Childcare Licensing

Serving both Reno and Harvey County


The FAQ related to masks is as follows:

Q. Should staff wear masks when caring for children? New 5/18/2020

A. At this time, KDHE is not requiring the use of masks/cloth face coverings in child care facilities for adult staff or children in care. However, local health officials and employers/child care programs can require the use of masks in child care settings. If staff are wearing masks, care should be taken to avoid touching their eyes, nose, and mouth when removing face coverings and to wash hands immediately after removing. Masks should be washed frequently. Staff wearing masks may also need to consider the speech and language skills of young children as visual access to caregivers’ mouths is critical to infant/toddler speech development. Additionally, young children may try to touch or remove the mask from their caregiver which could result in contamination. If feasible and necessary, children in care over the age of 2 years may safely wear masks, in consultation with parents, once they are able to put one on and remove it without assistance and are able to avoid touching or sucking on it. Masks should not be placed on anyone—adult or child—who has trouble breathing, is unconscious, incapacitated, or otherwise unable to remove their mask without assistance. More information about the use of facial coverings is available on the CDC website. CDC also has specific Guidance for Child Care Programs that Remain Open.

NOTE: Both the CDC and KDHE recommend the use of cloth face coverings (masks) in public and other settings where physical distancing measures are difficult to maintain.

Please be sure to check with your local licensing surveyor to determine if any more stringent requirements have been implemented in your county.


Local updates from the Health Department regarding COVID-19 can be found by clicking here: COVID-19.


Finger print packet pick up options:

  • Email your name; the name of your facility; and your OCA#(s) to licensedchildcare@renogov.org
  • Call Childcare Licensing at (620) 694-2900, option 5 and provide your name; the name of your facility; and your OCA#(s). 
  • Fill out form located here

Both options you will receive a confirmation that your request has been received and a time will be verified with Michelle when you may come to the Health Department. 


The Kansas Department of Health and Environment is pleased to announce the adoption of amended regulations for licensed day care homes and group day care homes (K.A.R. 28-4-114a and 28-4-118) and for preschools and child care centers (K.A.R. 28-4-428 and 28-4-428a). The amended regulations were posted in the Kansas Register on April 27, 2017 and will be effective May 12, 2017.

Updated information including a copy of the Kansas Register containing the adopted regulations is available on the Child Care Licensing website. You may also register for a webinar on the website.

Orientation Classes 

Interested in being a childcare provider? Inquire with Childcare Licensing Staff at 620-694-2900, option 5 for next steps. 

Reminder: State Law Requires Childcare to be Given in Regulated Facilities

To register, email Childcare Licensing Staff

Local Yearly Fees

  • $30 for group and home day care
  • $60 for centers and preschools

Emergency Preparedness for Childcare

All providers are required to have professional development training including Health and Safety, Pediatric First Aid, and CPR. All training is to be KDHE approved.

Types of Childcare Facilities & Regulations

Childcare concerns should be referred to the Reno County Health Department

If you have any concerns about a child’s care at a daycare or center please call Childcare Licensing Staff at 620-694-2900, option 5.